The Pepsi Nightfire Nationals will literally be “THE RACE OF THE YEAR” at Firebird! The line-up is second to none. The pits will packed to the max with man of the top Professional teams in the country. Set for August 10-12 – the line-up is nothing shy of spectacular.

Founded by and operated by the New family and staff since its inception, the Pepsi Nightfire will be celebrating a historic 47th year.

We’ve been inundated with inquiries, as fans are anxious to find out who’s coming for our grand daddy weekend. Qualifying will take place twice on Friday. Pro’s will thunder at both 2 pm and 7 pm. Saturday will feature final qualifying at 2 pm and first round of eliminations on Saturday night beginning at 7 pm. The final two rounds of eliminations will blast off during Sunday’s Prime Time Finals at 1 pm and 4 pm. From our perspective, this is gonna be one barnburner of a drag racing event!

No longer a secret, here are the players currently pre-registered into the grand daddy NHRA Hot Rod Heritage Series event. And don’t be surprised if there’s even more heading to Idaho planning to register upon arrival.

AA/Funny Cars Entered

Defending Nightfire Main Event champion Jason Rupert
Defending Nightfire Tater Baker champion Bobby Cottrell
Ignitor Opener champion Jeff Arend
Dan Horan Jr.
Tim Boychuk
Shawn Bowen
Marc Meadors
, pictured
Matt Bynam
, pictured
Brad Thompson
John Weaver
Wally Giavia
William Morris
Scott Stanger
Jon Rice
Justin Taylor
Garth Widdison
Bill Windham
Mark Sanders

AA/Fuel Dragster Entries

Defending Nightfire champion Jim Murphy, pictured
Mendy Fry
Dusty Green
Adam Sorokin
Bret Williamson
Tyler Hilton

Phil Ruskowski
Pete Wittenberg
Brenden Murry

AA/Fuel Altered Entries

Defending Nightfire champion Bryan Hall
Todd Miller, pictured
Dan Hix, pictured
Jim Holtz
Troy Owen
Shawn Callen
Randy Bradford
Tom Padilla
Mathew Leonard

Xtreme Pro Modifieds West Entries

Defending Xtreme Series champion Ed Thornton, pictured
Jeremy Hanger
Bret Williamson, pictured
Karl Wilson
Rob Cacioppo
Roger Holder
Mike Doushgounian
Troy Ferry
Garrett Richards
Justin Wake
Jay Diedrich

Jet Funny Car Car Exhibition

“Warped Speed” Jet Funny Car – Richard Smith
“Tomahawk” Jet Funny Car – Derek Snelson

“Outlaw” Wheelstanding Stage coach

Jelly Belly “Candyland Stage” – Ed Jones

Save on tickets at any Stinker Stores location in the region or you can call the Firebird office to purchase tickets directly over the phone (and they will be mailed to you – same day). Hotline: 208 938-8986.


Thanks to photographers – Gary Himes, Robert Grice, Matt Levonas and Alex Charlton for providing the images featured above.