The state of Idaho’s premiere motorsport’s experience is the Pepsi Nightfire Nationals.

The Pepsi Nightfire Nationals returns to Firebird on August 10-13. Looking back in time, many of the greats have raced at our “Signature Event of the Year”. Nationally-recognized drivers like John Force, Don “the Snake” Prudhomme, Ed “the Ace” McCulloch, Tom “the Mongoose” McEwen, Gordie Bonin and many others have collected Nightfire titles dating back to the beginning.

New for the 2017 Nightfire, we will be celebrating Firebird’s 50th year of racing. It’s an extra special milestone we look forward to sharing with all the fans, racers, sponsors and any other patron of the raceway for the last half century!

The drama and excitement of Nitro will be showcased on Friday through Sunday. Professional classes include: AA/Funny Car, AA/Fuel Dragster, AA/Fuel Altered and Pro Modified eliminators. In addition, four amazing 280 mile per hour Jets and the wheelstanding “Outlaw” Stagecoach of Idaho’s every own Ed Jones will help light-up the skyline nightly, too. Click button below to see who is planning to participate at this year’s Nightfire:



The opening day `n night of Professional qualifying (at both 2 pm and 7 pm) is Friday Family Night. Friday is presented by Idaho’s News Channel 7 with discount coupons at participating track sponsors. Saturday of the Nightfire is one of the biggest days of the entire season at Firebird as the Pro Stars compete at both 2 pm (final qualifying) and again at 7 pm (for the opening round of racing) under the lights. The Professional Prime Time Finals resumes at 2 pm on Sunday. In addition, hundreds of racers battle in the All Access Bracketeer Challenge presented by Meridian Automotive & Machine for a combined purse topping $185,000.

For tickets, call the Firebird hotline at 208 938-8986 or you can score advance discount tickets today at region-wide Stinker Stores.


AA/Fuel Dragster
AA/Funny Car
AA/Fuel Altered
Pro Modified
Jet Funny Cars
Jet Dragsters
Outlaw Wheelstanding Stagecoach
Lucas Oil Top Fire


Thursday: Adult Pit-Side: $15 / Child: $5
Friday: Adult Pit-Side: $20 / Child: $5
Saturday: Adult Pit-Side Reserved: $30 / Child Reserved: $7
Sunday: Adult Pit-Side: $25 / Child: $5
Spectator Super Pass: $70 (good for the entire event with pit-side access)
Spectator Camping: $100* (*must purchase a Spectator Super Pass per person attending)
General Parking: Free

Event Schedule:


Gates Open: 8 am
Time Trials begin at: 9 am
Lucas Oil Top Fire Qual. (2): 11 am & 2:30 pm
Tech Closes: 3 pm
Bracket Tournament Eliminations: 3 pm
Racer’s New Crew Cookout: 8:30 pm
Post-Race Prize Give Away for Racers: 9 pm
Concludes: 10 pm


Gates Open: 8 am
Allstar Dash for Cash Qualifying: 11 am
Tech Closes: Noon
Bracket Tournament Eliminations: Noon
Professional Qualifying: 2 pm
Professional Autograph Session (upper pit area): 6:15 pm
Lucas Oil Top Fire Qual. (1): 6:30 pm
Professional Qualifying: 7 pm
Outlaw Wheelstander and Jets: 10 pm
Concludes: 10:30 pm


Gates Open: 8 am
Bracket Tournament Elimination: 11 am
Professional Qualifying: 2 pm
Professional Autograph Session (upper pit area): 6:15 pm
Lucas Oil Top Fire 1st Round: 6:30 pm
Professional Eliminations: 7 pm
Outlaw Wheelstander and Jets: 10 pm
Concludes: 10:30 pm


Gates Open: 8 am
Pre-Race Award’s Presentations: 10 am
Bracket Tournament Elimination: 10:30 am
Professional Eliminations: 2 pm
Lucas Oil Top Fire Eliminations: 2:45 pm
Professional Final Eliminations: 4 pm
Outlaw Wheelstander and Jets: at Conclusion

Leading up to the event, be sure and tune into 96.9 The Eagle as they help to present Idaho’s largest motorsports event.

Defending Nightfire champions include:

  • AA/Fuel Dragster
    Tony Bartone
  • AA/Funny Car
    Steven Densham
  • AA/Fuel Altered
    Jeremy Sullivan
  • Bracketeer
    Bud Preuss, Marissa Kidd, Kurt Gross, and Marissa Kidd
  • Pro
    Phil Sielaff, Jeff Taylor, Brandon Umberger, and Andy Schmall
  • Heavy
    Paul Sanders, Joe Witherspoon, Paul Sanders, and Kristi Shawver
  • Sled/Bike
    Brad Crawford, Rich Pedraza, Chad Hofert, and Paul Vaughn
  • Sportsman
    Michael Jaggers, Rene Coddens, Luke Jacobson, and Deana Bullington
  • Lucas Oil Top Fire Open Wheel
    Blu Hayball – runoff winner
  • Lucas Oil Full Bodied
    Kurt Averill

Pre-entry application for Bracketeer, Pro, Sled/Bike, Heavy and Top Fire (.pdf), click below:



To order tickets for the Nightfire event, click below:



In the event of inclement weather, updates will be available on this site and on Facebook.



For more event information, email: [email protected]